January 20, 2017


2017 Nominees

IU East Chancellor Kathy Cruz-Uribe said, “This year’s finalists demonstrate the dedication and service to community that the ATHENA award represents. Each year we receive many outstanding nominations for the ATHENA award, and this year the tradition continues and is a testament to the number of women who help to lead this community. We look forward to announcing the recipient at this year’s dinner.”

The request for nominations went out to the community in February 2017. The three finalists chosen were:

Angie Dickman portrait.Angie Dickman of Richmond, Indiana, is vice president at Reid Health. Dickman oversees many areas at Reid Health including Information Systems, Business Development, Reid Physician-Hospital Organization, Outpatient Surgery and Endoscopy, Retail Services, Physician Liaison and Outreach, Regional Market Strategic Planning. In the community, Dickman serves as chair of the IU East Board of Advisors and she is a board member and resource development chair for Community in Schools. Dickman is a past board chair of the Wayne County Area Chamber of Commerce and has also served Birth-To-Five, Richmond-Wayne County Life Sciences Task Force, Tri-Kappa women’s service organization, Wayne County Economic Development Corporation, Seton Catholic School, Earlham College Community Partnership Council and the United Way Annual Campaign.

Pat Heiny portrait.Pat Heiny of Richmond, Indiana, is co-owner of Contemporary Consulting. She is most recently a member of the Richmond Community Schools Board of Trustees, the Richmond Comprehensive Plan board, Richmond Citizen’s Advisory Board, Youth Education Task Force, Education Summit, All-America City Youth Team co-sponsor, Countywide Partnership for Youth, Human Capital Pipeline, Forward Wayne County, and is a co-founder of the Women’s Fund of Wayne County.

Bonita Washington-Lacey portrait.Bonita Washington-Lacey of Richmond, Indiana, is the senior vice president for Academic Affairs and director of Accreditation Activities at Earlham College. Washington-Lacey has been a member of Reid Health Board of Directors, Wayne County Foundation Board of Directors, and previously the Board of the YWCA, Board of the Mental Health Association of Wayne County, United Way of Wayne County, the Community Action of East Central Indiana, Advisory Committee for Head Start, Community Planning Committee for the Martin Luther King Jr. Day events, Police Department Merit Board and she is currently secretary of the Health Literacy Foundation.

Angie Dickman was announced the winner at the celebration dinner on June 22, 2017, at 6 p.m. at Forest Hills Country Club. Event proceeds equally benefited the IU East Center for Service Learning and the Wayne County Boys & Girls Club.